Type your search

BC National Inclusive Education Awards

Notice: Undefined variable: post_id in /www/wp-content/themes/inclusive/templates/page-header.php on line 16

National Inclusive Education Awards Announced in BC

To highlight National Inclusive Education Week (February 15 – 22), and to bring attention to the many positive examples of inclusive classrooms and schools across the country, the Canadian Association for Community Living (CACL) has created a national certificate of recognition to be bestowed upon recipients who have made positive contributions to inclusive education in their province or territory.

Three awards were selected in the areas of early childhood education, K-12 education and post-secondary education. Winners were announced during Inclusive Education Week (February 15-22, 2009) and will be honoured at the BCACL Conference and Annual General Meeting in June, 2009.

And the winners are…

Early Childhood Education – Elaine Kopetski, Megan Kikert, and Echo Hawkridge of Quesnel and District Daycare.

Elementary School category – Elaine Fitzpatrick of Parkhill Elementary School in Dawson Creek.

Secondary School Category – Curtis Tuininga and Shannon Kumpolt of Centennial Christian School in Terrace.

Champion of Inclusive Education in BC – Barbara Laird, of Vancouver.